about SKLMF

The State Key Laboratory of Multiphase Flow in Power Engineering

The State Key Laboratory of Multiphase Flow in Power Engineering was ratified to establish by the State Planning Commission in February 1990, and was completed in December 1992. The Laboratory passed through inspection and was opened in 1993. Current director of the laboratory is Professor Liejin Guo, one of the first distinguished professors of “Chang Jiang Scholars Program”. The Academic Committee of the laboratory is chaired by Prof. Jianzhong Xu, academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences.
Research field of the Laboratory focuses on Energy & Power, Energy & Chemical Engineering and Energy & Environmental Engineering. The Laboratory relies on disciplines of Power Engineering and Engineering Thermophysical, takes Thermal Energy Engineering as its core support, gathers outstanding faculties from related schools engaging in power engineering, petroleum engineering & environment, multiphase flow & heat mass transfer in chemical process, multiphase flow & clean combustion, cryogenic two-phase flow & enhanced heat transfer, phase change heat transfer & enhancement, numerical fluid dynamics & heat transfer, thermal properties measurement of multiphase multicomponent refrigerants and fuels, etc. A national research base, aiming at basic and applied investigation in field of Energy & Power, Energy & Chemical Engineering, Energy & Environmental Engineering, is integrated. It well supports studies in Power Engineering and Engineering Thermophysical, and plays significant role in the state’s Innovation System of Science and Technology. It is also an important base for basic theoretic and applied investigation on multiphase flow, a base for gathering and cultivating excellent researchers and conducting academic exchanges of high level.
The laboratory has five major research domains. Multiphase flow and large scale system engineering in energy and power, Petroleum engineering in multiphase flow and measuring technology, Conversion and utilization of renewable and alternative energy and distributed power system, Process and energy conservation system and innovative and high technology, Universal theory on flow and transfer phenomenon and Physical property base of energy conversion. The laboratory has been established Research Base with international scientists widely. In 2011, with the Dr. Lionel Vayssieres, Dr. Gunnar Westin, Dr. Sanjay Mathur, Dr. Enrico Traversa, Dr. Samuel S. Mao and Dr. Liejin Guo’s led, the laboratory established International Research Center for Renewable Energy (IRCRE).
There are 64 faculties in the laboratory, including 2 academicians of Chinese Academy of Sciences, 1 academician of Chinese Academy of Engineering, 6 distinguished professor of Chang Jiang Scholar Plan, 4 honored professors of Chang Jiang Scholar Plan, 4 nation-lever outstanding achieved experts, 7 winner of the outstanding youth fund, 5 Overseas and Hong Kong and Macao joint research fund winner, 24 winners of Cross-century Talent Plan or New Century’s Talent Plan of Ministry of Education of China, 7 winners of Annual 100 Excellent Doctoral Dissertation. There are 33 professors, 11 associate professors, 14 lecturers, 1 senior engineers, 3 engineers, 2 technical staffs.
In 2004, the team, leaded by Professor Liejin Guo, was authorized as the first innovation research group in field of Engineering Thermophysical and Energy Utilization by National Natural Science Foundation of China. In 2008 the team was evaluated as excellent and gained the new three-year continuous sponsored. The teams, leaded by Prof. Liejin Guo and Prof. Yaling He, relatively, were selected as creative teams of Chang Jiang Scholar and Innovation Development Plan, Ministry of Education of China. In 2012 the team, leaded by Professor Liejin Guo was provided the third financial by National Natural Science Foundation of China.